Who Are You?

Have you spent any time recently considering where you are going? Or maybe considering how you arrived where you currently are? I was re-reading one of my favorite books this past week called “Courageous Leadership” by Bill Hybels. In it, Hybels makes the statement, “I want to be known as a man of love”. The context is he doesn’t want to be known as a manipulator of people. He wants his leadership to be based upon a true love for people.

Upon reading this, I wondered how many others have defined what it is they want to be known as. I proceeded to ask some of those close to me this very question. I was a little stunned that very few people could answer. The way I see it, we are all going to be known as something. Shouldn’t we be developing towards something intentional? Shouldn’t you be becoming what you would like to known as, instead of whatever comes your way? I wonder if some of the great public leadership failures of the last decade would have turned out different if these leaders had defined what they want to be known for. I doubt many of them would have said they want to be known for moral failures or poor judgement.

It seems to me that there is great importance to each of us in defining the answer to this question. Knowing this helps us become intentional and define our direction for life. It helps us make wise decisions based around moving towards a goal. Personally, I want to be known as someone who invests in people. I want to be known as someone who helped those around him become greater.

What do you want to be known as?

Leave a Reply

