An Exnteded Follow Friday

This past week at the Big Omaha conference I had the chance to hear from a stud entrepreneur, Micah Baldwin. Micah is the founder of Graphicly and also the founder of the Follow Friday hashtag on Twitter (#FF). At Big Omaha this past Friday, Micah decided to be open and honest with us. He simply shared his life story in a very candid way. He talked about his rise to success, battle with drugs and alcohol, and quest to clean up and change his life. It was a great way to spend an hour, and I learned a lot about Micah and a lot about myself. I didn’t fully agree with everything he was saying, but that’s more than OK. Micah spurred great discussion amongst those I was spending time with at the conference, and that is incredibly important.

I could have just thrown the @micah Twitter handle out there with a #FF on it and been done with the whole thing, but that didn’t seem appropriate today. Instead, I thought I would do Follow Friday in long form on the blog in the spirit of telling stories and starting conversation.

1. Robert Murphy (@RamHatter)

Robert is a co-worker of mine and has spent the past few years working on our communications team as the Art Director. In the coming months he will be working on a new launch of an online community. The project is incredibly intriguing, and I can’t think of a better person to run with it. If you met Robert, you would find he has an incredibly dry sense of sarcasm, and can trash talk with the best of them. Robert has great heart though, and really cares about people. Follow Robert for interesting reads on technology, religion, and entrepreneurship.

Recent Tweets:

CDC is hustlin’. RT @jenniferwindrum: THANK GOD! I was clueless: CDC Warns Public to Prepare for ‘Zombie Apocalypse’ http://fxn.ws/jLuswO

If @Micah can do it at #BigOmaha, I can do it as well. Sharing with staff this AM about overcoming my addiction. Will blog later about it.

2. Tyler Huckabee (@TylerHuckabee)

In the interest of full disclosure, I should probably start with letting everyone know Tyler is my cousin. He lives in Lincoln and writes for a start-up called Footnote TV. I have been blown away by the amazing content Footnote has been able to put out. It really is amazingly good stuff, and the stories they tell are very intriguing. Tyler is a great creative with a sense of humor that rivals most stand up comedians. Follow Tyler for posts on creativity, Footnote, and randomly funny crap.

Recent Tweets:

I don’t want to sound like an attention whore or anything, but I’m actually Arnold Schwarzenegger’s other secret child.

@GQMagazine says that cargo pants are back in style, which is just more evidence that Nebraska is an entire nation of fashion pioneers.

3. Jeff Slobotski (@slobotski)

I was introduced to Jeff, the founder of Big Omaha and Silicon Prairie News, by my friend Robert Murphy. We met about a year ago down at his office to pick up some passes to the Berkshire meeting here in Omaha. Jeff has impressed me since the day I met him, and as his “fame” continues to clime his humbleness continues to increase in proportion. I won’t claim that Jeff and I are great friends – we simply haven’t spent enough time together. In the few times I have had the opportunity to talk with Jeff I have been amazed at this talent, intellect, and drive. Follow Jeff for information on technology, entrepreneurship, and Big Omaha.

Recent Tweets

Don’t mistake busyness for productivity. Something I have to remind myself of every day…

“The greatest good you can do for another is not to share riches, but to reveal to him his own.” – via Benjamin Disraeli

Tagged

Leave a Reply

